Sticks & Stones May Break My Bones But Words Will Never Hurt Me.

by sophiestockings

As I’ve ascended into adulthood and ”grown-up’’ the negative connotations of the word ‘ginger’ aren’t as hurtful as they were when I was in my adolescence. As I grew up I began to notice that being ginger wasn’t such a big issue after-all and all those years spent hiding my-self away under the makeup and clothing was unnecessary. I’m not exactly sure when the change occurred perhaps it was when elder men and women began to compliment my hair colour and complexion or when I had my first boyfriend but the change in mental state from positive to negative not only changed my dress sense but my ego-state. As I began to accept my self-image my confidence boosted and has lead to being the confident, social person I am today, I believe that without the shift in mental-states that I would have not become the person I am today. Goffman’s theory of Darmaturgy no longer applies to my life, I no longer feel the need to change my persona in order to be socially accepted whether that be by society in general or by a sub-culture.

Ginger & I Know It

