Man I Feel Like A Woman.

by sophiestockings

Aside from the division of class, the term ‘ginger’ is applied differently depending on gender. Typically the term ‘ginger‘  is a male-attributed phrase whereas the term ‘red-head’ is typically female. Usually a woman with red-hair is referred to in a positive light as the term ‘red head’ generally is regarded to mean attractive or striking, however the same connotation is not applied to men.

 

 The collection of redheads above vary and it is fair to comment that the female gender is more attractive from these images. These images are taken from a Google search of ‘redheads’ it is clear that ‘ginger’ women are thought of as more attractive than ‘ginger’ men. Decisively, I would agree and although I am ginger myself I don’t see the appeal of celebrities such as Ed Sheeran and Rupert Grint. Personally I think feel that these two particular men are not attrative. Whereas actresses such as Isla Fisher are in my eyes beautiful. However many women are beginning to find ‘ginger’ men more and more attractive as they come into the limelight through media exposure, the images which we are now shown in magazines ect. actually promote the hair colour and is slowly shifting into a positive light. Perhaps the issues which I experienced are now a thing of the past and as society re-educates itself it will move away from previous negative connotations.

